Hulk #1 Review

Hulk_1_CoverWriter: Mark Waid

Artist: Mark Bagley

Colorist: Jason Keith

WHO SHOT THE HULK: PART ONE

Dr. Robert Bruce Banner a.k.a. the Hulk has been shot and is now on the brink of death. S.H.I.E.LD. has come to his aid with a special someone from his past who has more than just Bruce’s life in his hands…The mystery of who shot Bruce Banner is upon us!

The Ups: Ever since Indestructible Hulk and Ultimate Spider-man, Mark Waid and Mark Bagley have become two of my favorite writers and artists respectively. I was very excited to see these two coming together for the first time to bring us a brand new Hulk series that has so far been mind blowing. Waid offers a unique inner monologue from the perspective of third person through a character who is, surprisingly, so pivotal that we almost forget that this is a comic about the Hulk! In addition, the story had perfect execution and exposition in a way that the story starts without being confusion and continues to follow on the same track of continuity. Bruce Banner has been a valuable agent of S.H.I.E.L.D. for a long time now and they can’t afford to lose him as an asset. Things get complicated when he is shot twice in the back of the headand has to undergo severe brain surgery to save his life. I won’t go too much into detail so as not to give too much away but I will say that Bruce getting shot is going to be the least of S.H.I.E.L.D’s worries in the near future. Furthermore, Bagley’s art always interests me because I was constantly intrigued by the intense amount of detail he puts into pencil work and in tandem with Jason Keith’s colors brings out every valuable detail in the characters and makes each panel a joy to see.

The Downs: Everything about this issue was great and I’m very excited to see where this story continues to go.

Overall: The issue was spot on in every way and the story ends in a way that leaves us completely flabbergasted at the outcome and only lusting for more and more. I have newly invested a lot of time into reading as much Hulk material as I can and this issue makes me glad I did. I’m eager to see what further magic Waid, Bagley, and Keith can create throughout this series but I’m confident it will be phenomenal.

Grade 5 of 5

Leave a comment