Cyclops #1 Review

CyclopsWriter: Greg Rucka

Artist: Russell Dauterman

Colorist: Chris Sotomayor

Young Scott Summers a.k.a. Cyclops, is a mutant and former member of the X-Men . After discovering what he is to become in the future, what kind of man he will one day be, Scott leaves the team and his love Jean Grey to find a new path with his father Corsair, the famous space pirate captain and his crew: the Starjammers!

The Ups: I am not a very big fan of the X-Men but no matter how much I may be annoyed by them, Cyclops is always the one exception. I love his character, his personality, and his powers. In this series Greg Rucka writes a story that takes us back to when Cyclops was just a teenager trying to find himself just like most other sixteen year-old kids, mutant or otherwise. Scott now spends his days drifting through the cosmos with his father, a famous space pirate, and his motley crew of alien lifeforms. In this issue we are basically introduced to the crew and the whole atmosphere of the comic itself, which at this moment seems to be slightly comical, and sets the stage for future adventures. The artwork and colors done by Russell Dauterman and Chris Sotomayor respectively truly make for a more dynamic background, especially when it comes to detailing open expanse of outerspace, and the vibrant colors help make each lifeform stand out in a vibrant way. Dauterman’s work, is so unique to each character that it seems like they are drawn by different people. My favorite part about this book is Scott’s inner monologue which acts as the narrative of the book where he details his inner conflicts and what he desires from his new life. Through this Rucka gives us a deeper insight into Scott.

The Downs: As I said before, I am not a big X-men fan so I don’t really keep up with the series having to do with them so maybe I’m missing something but for me, the issue never exactly explained how Scott finds out about his future self or how he found his father in deep space. I know I can’t be the only person in the world who isn’t caught up with or into reading X-Men so for myself and those people it’s kind of confusing and I think the creators dropped the ball on that one.

Overall: I am definitely interested in this series and I am eager to see Cyclops get more and more face time as I’m sure any other Scott Summers fans can agree. It will strengthen the series if Rucka works a little bit towards smoothing out the story of how all this came to be for Scott but that is a minor thing to me. By the end of this book I was more interested in Scott’s relationship with his father and where that will take them in the future and what sort of path Scott will find himself on now.

Grade 4 of 5

Leave a comment