Secret Avengers #1 Review

Secret Avengers #1 - Page 1Writer: Ales Kot

Artist: Michael Walsh

Colorist: Matthew Wilson

SAVE THE EMPIRE: PART ONE OF TWO

Even the Avengers need a team to handle the missions that are down and dirty without the public knowing. Maria Hill has put together a new Secret Avengers team with an interesting card up her sleeve, M.O.D.O.K.! How will the new team react to this secret and will they be able to co-exist?

The Ups: I did not know what to expect doing into this issue but I have to say, Kot gave me a pleasant and humorous surprise. I enjoy the fact that Agent Coulson is on the team, even though his personality in the comics is a lot lighter than it is in the movies and in ‘Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.’. I found it pretty funny that Fury and Coulson had this buddy cop feel going on which was something I was not expecting but really enjoyed. Maria Hill and the addition of M.O.D.O.K. was an interesting choice being that A.I.M. has been the focus of some of the major Avenger issues as of late, but it gives kind of a Suicide Squad feel to this new team. Hawkeye, Black Widow, and Spider-Woman round out the the team with the witty humor and a pretty funny scene making this one team book I can find myself fully enjoying. At first I was not crazy about the old school feel of Walsh and Wilson’s art, but as I kept reading the art style started fitting very well with the vibe of the story, and goes to show you don’t have to go over the top in detail to make the art look great. For me Wilson was the star of the issue, each page had color that blended so well it made every page pop and I felt like I was in the scene as I read each page.

Secret Avengers #1 - Page 6The Downs: Everyone about this issue was great!

Overall: A very pleasant surprise from the team of Kot, Walsh, and Wilson. This is a book that doesn’t take itself too serious but is entertaining in many different levels that I just can’t wait to read the next issue. This issue is my pick of the week, make sure you go and grab it!

Grade 5 of 5

Leave a comment