The Flash #25 Review Zero Year Tie-In

The Flash #25 - Page 1

Writer: Francis Manapul & Brian Buccellato

Artist/Cover: Chris Sprouse & Francis Manapul / Francis Manapul

Colorist: Brian Buccellato

ZERO YEAR: STARTING LINE

Fresh out of the academy, Rookie cop Barry Allen has come to Gotham to assist the city during the blackout. Barry teams up with Harvey Bullock and Nick Spencer to solve the case of the new drug that has effected the citizens of Gotham. He will soon learn that Gotham plays by different rules whether he like it or not.

The Ups: Manapul and Buccellato has written a good zero year tie in. It was a fun read and different from a flash story because it was a Barry focus story. This issue was not a superhero comic but a crime comic that was fitting for a powerless Barry. The writers introduce us to a rookie Barry Allen that is heroically driven. He believes that everything a cop does should be done in a heroic matter but he quickly learns that in Gotham, that kind of thinking could get you killed. It was fun seeing Barry out of Central City and how the cops of Gotham think he is just crazy for being so head first. This was a Batman Zero Year with no Batman (if you don’t count the cape sighting…thats right I caught that) and that was no problem. I enjoyed seeing Batman’s unlikely supporting cast taking the spotlight. The Harvey Bullock I know is from the animated series and he always came off to me as a joke. This New 52 version shows me that Bullock is a cop capable of great things. Manapul’s and Buccellato’s drug was called Icarus which was a clever name for a drug of its effect. This story also answers the question of Iris’ and Barry’s past in a silly romantic comedy way. The art is by Sprouse (which I am glad to see him after the Orson Card’s Adventure of Superman derailment) is a bit nostalgic for me. His artwork reminds me a lot of late 90’s comics that adapted a more cartoon look. Looking at the art work made me feel like I was watching an animated series that I loved and missed.

The Flash #25 - Page 10

The Downs: The last few pages of the issue was drawn by Manapul. I do enjoy his art but I believe in this issue it was disrupting the art flow of the story. Sprouse drew about the first 20 pages which established the art of the issue. The drastic change in art style was not appealing. Sprouse art style is great but the way he draws Barry was like seeing Superman from the animated series. A bit fat face and strong jaw but it not a fault because it is the artist’s interpretation. I just believe the Barry I imagine to be a little thinner.

Overall: Manapul and Buccellato has a fun detective story that makes me want to follow more adventures of powerless Barry Allen or Harvey Bullock. Sprouse brings fun and cartoony art that I would enjoy seeing more of and would flourish if he drew an issue or two of Batman Beyond. Not a strong artistic finish but the story keeps this issue above average.

Grade 4 of 5

Leave a comment