The Superior Spider-Man Annual #1 Review

Annual Superior Spider-Man #1 (2014) - Page 1

Writer: Christos Gage

Artist: Javier Rodriguez

Inker/Colorist: Alvaro Lopez/Javier Rodriguez

“The name Blackout will once again be synonymous with murder.”

HOSTAGE CRISIS

Otto has been doing a great job of being a better Spider-Man than Peter has but still lacks in the same place, paying attention to Aunt May. Can Otto truly succeed in every aspect of Peter’s life including his family life?

The Ups: I will say one thing, Dan Slott is not the only man who can make Spider-Man a complete badass. Gage hits all the points in this story and plays a lot more into how Otto is learning to truly appreciate the life he took over. I liked the inclusion of a Ghost Rider villain in Blackout even though I’m not a fan of street level heroes dealing with the supernatural but I immediately thought Otto will make this interesting so lets give it a shot and I’m glad I did. Seeing how Otto deals with Blackout and the situation he forced him into truly made me wonder how much further are they going to take Spider-Man these days, I for one hope they constantly push the envelope. The best part of the issue for me was the stellar art and with Rodriguez on double duty I must say he has done a hell of a job. The drawing style and the colors look very similar to something you would see out of Chris Samnee’s recent DareDevil issues. The feel is very retro but gives a real feel for the bright lights of New York City.

Annual Superior Spider-Man #1 (2014) - Page 7

The Downs: Nothing wrong here.

Overall: A solid issue worthy of the Superior Spider-Man. An action packed story, wonderful artwork and a bunch of seeds being planted for the upcoming ‘Goblin Nation’ Spider-Man looks like he’s going to have his hands full and I for one want to see what’s next!

Grade 4 of 5

Leave a comment