Justice League of America #9 Review Forever Evil Tie-In

Justice League of America #9 (2014) - Page 1

Dark Art

“God. You know how many times I’ve heard that? I’m coming down there with you. I’m your backup.”

Writer: Matt Kindt

Artist: Tom Derenick

Inker/Colorist: Tom Nguyen/Allen Martinez/Gabe Eltaeb

Stargirl has found a way out of the hellish prison while Martian Manhunter still searches for the other members of the Leagues. With Manhunter going further into the prison and Stargirl losing her psychic link to him can Stargirl find Manhunter in time before he becomes a victim of the prison himself?

The Ups: Kindt’s choice to use Manhunter and Stargirl in my opinion is a smart one. I’ve always been one for givng the lesser heroes a chance, Stargirl being the one I am speaking of. Not knowing much of the character myself its nice to see some background on the character and see that Kindt has intentions of giving her a lot of priority and not leaving everything on the far more popular Manhunter. Derenick and Eltaeb brings such an intense and creepy approach with the art and color especially the scenes with Madam Xandau. I really enjoyed this because it gave me more of a feel of how the prison is driving the League insane as you can see the insanity in each of their faces.

Justice League of America #9 (2014) - Page 4

The Downs: The story in this issue has presented a lot more questions than answers and not questions I feel I should have. My main concern is why did just Manhunter and Stargirl escape the effects of the prison even though they are inside the prison, but at the same time it seems like they are under the prisons spell and they do not realize it. This is just very unclear especially since it seemed so easy for Stargirl to find an exit and conveniently villains are out there waiting for her, its just very off to me and gives me the feeling that this is all in Stargirl’s head and if that’s true I will be very disappointed.

Overall: Even though I’m glad there are new characters being given the spotlight, this story is just not grabbing me. I know it’s only two issues in but the direction I see this story going in is concerning me. Time will tell where this story will go but I feel in order to build Stargirl as a stand alone hero, there should be a lot more clear evidence that the events are really happening, not an illusion.

Grade 2 of 5

Leave a comment