Animal Man #26 Review

Animal Man #26 - Page 1

Writer: Jeff Lemire

Artist: Cully Hamner

Colorist: Dave McCaig

Cover: Rafael Albuquerque

GODSEED

“Here–friend…see? You–you look like a friend of mine from Earth. Swamp Thing…”

The last place Buddy thought his battle with Brother Blood would take him is outer space. Surrounded by beings that seems to be attacking him and do not speak his language, can Buddy escape these creatures and find a way to get back to Earth to save his wife and daugther?!

The Ups: I dare say, in my personal opinion, Jeff Lemire’s “Animal Man” is on par with Scott Synder’s “Batman”, because no matter what is going on in the story Baker always comes out looking bad ass and no matter where he is or what is going on, it is so wonderfully written and drawn. At first I was completely thrown off by this swerve in the plot, but once Lemire revealed the reason why it happened, it truly made me feel the Animal Man is definitely in a league of his own and deserves to be promoted more for more people to appreciate the character. Hamner and McCaig make some great designs for the aliens and I definitely laughed harder than I probably should of when Buddy compared one of aliens to Swamp Thing, I can’t lie though there was a slight resemblance. I really enjoy the design on the character of Bridgewalker, I always feel when it comes to aliens artist go the extra mile to make them as abstract as possible and in this case it came out looking pretty sick. Albuquerque’s cover was simply amazing, it truly shows you how powerful Baker really is.

Animal Man #26 - Page 4

The Downs: This issue was a little on the short side, there was just so much being told I wanted more and it just end. Hopefully the next issue of the story arc will be a little bit longer.

Overall: An amazing piece of work by Lemire, Hamner, and McCaig that simply keep me wanting more. If you are not reading “Animal Man” make sure you do so the entire series up to this point has been amazing and this issue is definitely my pick of the week.

Grade 5 of 5

Leave a comment