Action Comics #26 Review

Action Comics #26 (2014) - Page 1

Writer: Greg Pak

Artist/Cover: Aaron Kuder

Colorist: June Chung

MONSTERS

It is known that monsters can come in all shapes and sizes, even if it’s the Man of Steel. But when monsters are attacking humans, it may not be for the reason you think. Now it is up to Superman to figure out who is the bigger threat the monster or the humans attacking it?!

The Ups: For me Superman stories can be very tricky and when dealing with his personality they are a little unbelievable or can not relate with them. But people one way or another can relate to being different or and outsider, and I think Pak did a great job starting out this story arc with a Superman some of us can relate to. While setting up slowly for a story arc Pak mostly goes into how Superman is torn between helping a creature that looks like it’s terrorizing humans while realizing that the creature itself may not be what it seems and is being provoked by the humans. It may seem simple, but a lot of emotion is put into this story and the last couple of pages made me really interested to see where this is going.

Action Comics #26 (2014) - Page 5

The Downs: Kuder and Chung go a little in and out with the artwork here. Sometimes pages are full of detail and other pages get shaky on the details like Superman’s costume and facial features. While I am a big fan of Kuders work, the inconsistency was very obvious and I noticed myself pointing it out too much when I wasn’t even trying to.

Overall: I really enjoy how Pak writes Superman, he makes him very cocky and very “human.” This was a good change of pace from all the recent Superman stories where his character comes out for one dimensional to me. I am not the biggest fan of Superman, but I can always enjoy him when Pak gets his hands on it.

Grade 3 of 5

Leave a comment