Thor God of Thunder #14 Review

https://i0.wp.com/static.comicvine.com/uploads/scale_super/0/40/3352186-thorgot2012014_dc11_lr.jpg

The Accursed: Part Two

The League of Realms

“If anyone attempts to walk out now they will answer to me and my hammer.

W: Jason Aaron A: Ron Garney C: Ive Svorcina

The Dark Elf Malekith has returned from exile and has slaughtered his own people. Can Thor stop this madman before he brings his wrath to Asgard?

The Ups: I personally really enjoy the character of Malekith. I have always preferred the trickster villain where he is not always the strongest but is the smartest guy in the room and always beats the heroes with unconventional means that’s not complete brute force. The way Aaron writes Malekith as a complete psychopath with a purpose with great intelligence makes him a very interesting character. A character that maybe could be used in other comics not just Thor. The other characters that caught my interest were the League of Realms, all I have to say is that all their corny one liners are so much more interesting than anything clever Thor would say. The art in this issue felt like a step up from the last one. Garney and Svorcina put more detail and color into the pages and they did a wonderful job on the designs for the league.

https://i0.wp.com/multiversitystatic.s3.amazonaws.com/uploads/2013/09/Thor-God-Of-Thunder-14-Page-2.jpg

The Downs: I don’t know whether it’s completely terrible that every other character who is not Thor interest me more than Thor himself. Aaron does such a good job on giving life and creativity to all the other characters but Thor himself comes off so bland and a lot like a complete air head. I personally don’t think there is anything wrong with enjoying side characters more than the main character. However; if I enjoy nothing but the side characters something is wrong with how the main character is written. The other thing nagging me has been the slow plot, we kinda already know what Malekith wants but I don’t think its enough for a real solid story and I am hoping there is more to it then him just going on a rampage.

Overall: A very solid issue with the addition of a lot of colorful and interesting characters. Definitely an issue to go pick up.

Grade: 4 of 5

Leave a comment