Ms. Marvel #2 Review

Ms. Marvel #2 - Page 1

Writer: G. Willow Wilson

Artist: Adrian Alphona

Colorist: Ian Herring

“All Mankind Part Two of Five”

Ups: This issue has the same quirkiness and humor as the first issue which makes this series so unique and interesting. Kamala really is a very relatable character and her story feels personal and real. The issue also introduces some unique obstacles for Kamala that I don’t think anyone saw coming. We all expect her to become Ms. Marvel at the end of her journey but this issue lets us know that the journey from awkward teenager to super hero is longer and more complicated than it seems. The art in this series is unique and wonderful to look at as we saw in the first issue and as super powers have been added to series we only get to see more and more great visual effects.

Ms. Marvel #2 - Page 6

Downs: The pacing of this story is a little slow for my taste. With a new character it’s important to take things slow and introduce them, but I think it’s equally important to introduce structure and conflict to the story which we don’t have very much of yet. Kamala has her own personal struggles but I felt myself craving a villain or goal at this point. This isn’t to say I don’t expect those things in the future but I would have liked the issue to at least hint at something like that.

Overall: This series is very self contained and seems to be progressing smoothly. While the pacing is a little slow for my taste I’d rather have this series be too slow than be too fast and miss out on some valuable character development. Kamala and her awkward sense of humor and her relatable struggle made this issue a joy to read and she makes her series one of the most unique books that Marvel has to offer right now. I can’t wait for the next issue and to see the journey she takes as she becomes Ms. Marvel

Grade: 4 of 5

Leave a comment