Scarlet Spider # 25 Review (Series Finale)

Scarlet Spider #25 - Page 1

Writer: Chris Yost

Artist/Cover: David Baldeon / Ryan Stegman

Colorist: Chris Sotomayor

FINALE

It’s over! After 2 years of extremely fun adventures Scarlet Spider ends here. He left New York as a wanted criminal trying to escape to Mexico. He had a 2 year detour in Texas in which he inspired to be a hero. However, with his history he knew that it will come to an end. Kaine’s life has fallen apart and he has prepared to move on. Look out Mexico the Scarlet Spider is coming!

The Ups: I’ll start by saying that I am a huge fan of this book and it is hard to see it go. Like they say “All good thing comes to an end” Yost has taken a character that people were not happy to hear being the Scarlet Spider and turn him into the Scarlet Spider fans have vocally supported. The issue ties up all the Houston story lines. His connection with the people and the city are not left unanswered. We even get an interesting “The Other” story. There is a lot of emotional presence in the dialogue even when Kaine is brooding. Kaine shares the spotlight with Aracely who is one of my favorite Yost creation. Her interaction with Kaine and society is always funny. Yost writes a nice “until next time” letter at the back of the issue that shows how much he appreciate the support and love the book. Baldeon art has grown on me. My first impression was that I did not like it but I believe it is because he did not have too much time on the book. I did enjoy his art this issue. His line work was heavy which was a perfect fit for this issue. Sotomayor’s colors are great! It kicks this issue up a notch. A quick shout out to Stegman’s amazing cover. It just shouts out at you “Finale”

Scarlet Spider #25 - Page 14

The Downs: I had a number of problems with this issue. One problem I had was that this last issue should have been super sized. Not sure if the series got ended abruptly or if there was no time but I felt there was more of the story that wasn’t told. The issue felt very rushed. I could not believe I was done with the issue when I was. One example is “The Other” portion of the story. I felt like it was rushed and that scene could have been elaborated a little more. Fans should know that Kaine is moving on to the New Warriors series. This issue did not lead Kaine into it. I was expecting a hint of Nova or Speed ball. Not sure if they were saving it  for the new series itself. This issue so have been longer in order to get all the story without feeling rushed. There are times where the art falls off. There are panels where Kaine face doesn’t look consistently the same (despite the obvious change in facial hair).

Overall: Yost has turned a monster into a hero and I am glad I came for the ride. The series has been a delight and the most underrated series the last 2 years. Unfortunately, Yost does not make a grand exit but has a quiet walk away that leaves you at peace. The art team was stellar and I hope to see them again soon. If you haven’t read the series yet, pick up the trades because there is some amazing stories in this series. Pick this issue up and follow Yost& Kaine in New Warriors #1 this February!

Grade 3 of 5

Leave a comment