X-Men Gold #1 Review

X-Men Gold #1 (2014) - Page 1

“I guess it really is true: he’s the best there is at what he does…and what he does best, isn’t very nice.”

Writer: Chris Claremont/Various writers

Artist: Bob McLeod/Various arists

Colorist: Israel Silva/Various colorist

With 50 years under their belt, the X-Men have become one of Marvel’s most popular and well established series. This wonderful issue is a great look back to what made the series a household name it is today.

The Ups: When reading this issue I felt like I stepped into a time machine bringing me back to comic book nostalgia. Whether or not you were into X-Men back in the 70’s or 80’s, Claremont shows you everything that made the series great. The best thing for me was while I was reading I kept playing the old X-Men animated series theme song in my head which totally fit the action and vibe the story was going for. Mcleod and Silva bring out the best of the old school art and color from the classic costumes, to the retro clothes and hairstyles, to the old school sentinel designs. But to add to the awesomeness of the issue, there were three side stories all written and drawn by different writers and artist depicting huge events in X-Men history. From the introduction of Banshee and Sunfire, the coming of the monster Onslaught, and a classic story of the original X-Men written by Stan Lee and drawn by Walter Simonson. Every single bit of this issue made me remember why I am a such huge fan the X-Men and made me fall in love with the series that brought me into comics all over again.

X-Men Gold #1 (2014) - Page 5

The Downs: I love this issue but why does Rogue look like my grandma? I couldn’t get that off my mind and I don’t ever remember her looking like that.

Overall: Marvel has been on such a roll lately with their X-Men stories, Battle of the Atom, Amazing X-Men and now Gold. Every single page of this issue is a work of art, fan or not you will enjoy it. If there’s anything you read this week makes sure it’s X-Men Gold, you will not be disappointed.

Grade 5 of 5

Leave a comment