Red Hood and the Outlaws #29 Review

Red Hood and the Outlaws #29 - Page 1Writer: Will Pfeifer

Artist: Rafael Sandoval

Colorist: Paul Neary/Jordi Tarragona

THE BIG PICTURE: PART ONE

Jason, Roy, and Kori spend their day doing whatever it is outlaws do on their days off and things quickly go from bad to worse in the blink of an eye…

The Ups: I personally find it somewhat interesting that the Red Hood and the Outlaws series has been focusing more on issues of worldy and intergalactic scales much like the Fantastic Four. At first, perhaps because of my naivety, I had the notion that anything with Batman family character in it would be a mimic of the Batman style comic, but I was terribly wrong. At the start of this issue writer Will Pfeifer lets us dig a little deeper into the minds of each character, divulging more information about them and what they think of eachother. Pfeifer’s writing style makes the characters able to compliment eachother on every level of story telling simply by their mannerisms.

The Downs: Rafael Sandoval’s art style is very nice to look at when combined with the colors done by Paul Neary and Jordi Tarragona but it feels to me that at its core, the pencil work itself is nothing special. In addition, I’m not sure if it is the creators intention to make the start of this arc and where it will be going confusing but it was difficult for me to follow.

Overall: In the end, the aspect of this comic and every part of the series that I have read that I find to be the most alluring is the characters themselves and the very particular writing that is used when things are pertaining to them. I am very eager to see them develop further in their journeys together.

Grade 3 of 5

2 thoughts on “Red Hood and the Outlaws #29 Review

  1. I’m so far behind on comic books! It’s really bumming me out. The last thing that I read was death of the family and even that I had to read in trade. I just cant afford to buy comic books as they come out anymore. Oh well, that’s ok, at least I still get to read about them on the internet. Cool blog! I would love it if you could check out my page and let me know what you think

Leave a Reply

